European Quality Assurance Register for Higher Education

Press release - 8 October 2009

EQAR now lists 17 quality assurance agencies

Download as PDF 

Brussels. As of yesterday, seventeen quality assurance agencies feature on the European Quality Assurance Register for Higher Education (EQAR). In addition to the nine agencies that had already been listed on the register, applications from the following eight agencies have been accepted subsequent the approval of the Register Committee on 30 September 2009:

         AGAE (Spain)               HETAC (Ireland)
  AHPGS (Germany) IUQB (Ireland)
  AQA (Austria) NEAA (Bulgaria)
  ARACIS (Romania) VLIR (Belgium)

The Register with full information on included agencies is available at:


EQAR was established in 2008 in the context of the Bologna Process. To be included, quality assurance agencies have to evidence that they work in line with agreed European principles, set out in the European Standards and Guidelines for Quality Assurance (ESG).

EQAR’s Register Committee – an independent body consisting of quality assurance experts nominated by European stakeholder organisations of higher education institutions, students, quality assurance agencies and the social partners – decides on applications for inclusion.

Colin Tück, Acting Director of EQAR said: “I am grateful that we could accept eight additional quality agencies on the Register. The review process, where all applicants are carefully scrutinised, is a thorough procedure. This is crucial to ensure that EQAR is a meaningful and reliable information tool that allows students, institutions and the wider public to identify credible and legitimate agencies that perform quality reviews of higher education institutions and programmes in Europe.”

More detailed information about EQAR´s application process can be found on the following Communiqué from the Chair of the Register Committee:


– Ends –

For further information, please contact:

Colin Tück (Acting Director), GSM +32 485 28 23 55, colin.tueck@eqar.eu